Cert IV – Work Health and Safety

This is a rapidly expanding RMS-Website-class-300x262industry and with the introduction of new Work Health and Safety (WHS) laws there is a wealth of job opportunities.
The Certificate IV in Work Health and Safety is the latest government-accredited Safety Qualification designed for people wishing to engage in careers in work health and safety. It replaces the Certificate IV in Occupational Health and Safety (OH&S).

For Prices & Booking: Please call (08) 9400 7500 or complete the enquiry form on this page .

This qualification will provide you with the skill and underpinning knowledge to provide leadership and guidance to others with regard to WHS matters. In this safety course you will build your knowledge of workplace health and safety and WHS legislation, allowing you to improve the working conditions of your colleagues.

The Certificate IV WHS course is perfect for those wanting to be responsible for workplace safety. It is ideal if you are either presently working, or seeking work, as WHS safety representative, Workcover safety assessor, occupational health and safety officer.

Get ready for an exciting and meaningful career move. RMS offers a range of study options for this course allowing you to complete training at:

  • Your own pace – learning at a pace that suits you- or:
  • Structured – 5 days trainer lead facilitated sessions with post course assessment

This course is designed to give you the practical knowledge and skills to enable you to provide others with valid and timely WHS advice and to assist with improving safety in the workplace.

The Certificate IV in WHS course covers a broad range of health and safety function and responsibilities in the workplace including:

  • Identifying hazards
  • Assessing and controlling risk
  • Contributing to WHS in the workplace
  • Managing consultation on WHS issues
  • Building business relationships
  • Developing teams and individuals
Program Content

This nationally recognised Work Health and Safety qualification is composed of a set of competencies. These competencies were developed through extensive consultation with a wide range of industries, and relate to a range of areas. Units available through RMS training include:

  • Assist with Compliance with WHS Laws
  • Implementing and maintaining WHS Consultation and participation processes
  • Contribute to implementing emergency procedures
  • Contribute to WHS hazard identification, risk assessment and risk control
  • Assist with responding to incidents
  • Assist with claims management, rehabilitation and return-to-work programs
  • Contribute to implementing and maintaining WHS management systems
  • Analyse and Present Research Information
  • Making presentations
  • Implement and monitor environmentally sustainable work practices

Applicants must undertake and be competent in a Language, Literacy and Numeracy (LLN) assessment. Word processing, email and access to a computer, laptop or tablet, scanner and the internet is required.

Course Duration

Duration depends on delivery method selected.

You will be provided with training materials for each unit, including learning guides, self directed exercise and reference material.

Assessment Requirements

Laptop required. If needed, Laptops are available for hire. Enquire to find out more.

The Certificate IV in WHS is a competency-based qualification. This means that in order to attain the qualification, you need to provide evidence of understanding and workplace application. RMS provides participants with opportunities to complete part of the assessment requirements during trainer lead (face-to-face) training sessions.

Assessment Methods

Each module includes a set of evidence tasks with satisfactory completion required before a credential can be awarded. Examples of evidence include:

  • Short answers knowledge-based questions
  • Case studies
  • Scenarios
  • Workplace-based tasks / projects
  • Third party reports
Study Support

RMS provides email and telephone support to students. We also run support sessions covering course content and coaching lead by an RMS qualified trainer. Additional fees apply to attend these sessions.

Recognition of Prior Learning

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) is available for this qualification.

RPL is suitable for those who already have the necessary skills and knowledge in one or more areas which make up the Certificate IV in Frontline Management, and who do not wish to undergo further training in these areas.

To be granted RPL, applicants must provide evidence of their competence. Evidence requirements may vary, depending on the unit of competency being assessed. Typically evidence includes answers to theory questions, work samples and supervisor reports. Applicants must also participate in an assessment interview with a RMS assessor..

Those who are considering seeking RPL, are invited to speak with a RMS Training Advisor. The Training Advisor will make an initial assessment and discuss the RPL process in detail before sending an application package.

National Recognition

RMS recognises qualifications and statements of attainment issued by other Registered Training Organisations under the Australian Qualifications Framework. If you hold some of the units covered in this course you may be able to obtain a reduction in training or assessment requirements. Contact a RMS Training Advisor for further advice.

All RMS Courses are subject to our Terms and Conditions and Refund Policy.

* indicates required field


(08) 9400 7500

10 Franklin Lane Joondalup, Western Australia 6027
Registered Training Organisation 51105

ABN: 85 096 951 558

Click here to send email enquiry.


Find out how we can help your business with a range of services including on site training and VOCs. Explore options.